QueryTracker Community
August 15, 2018, 03:41:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Note: This forum uses different usernames and passwords than those of the main QueryTracker site. 
Please register if you want to post messages.

This forum is also accessible by the public (including search engines).
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Offer of Contract for Publication  (Read 1654 times)
SarahRWriter27

« on: March 06, 2017, 03:27:01 PM »

I am embarrassingly uneducated in the land of straightup publication. I've been querying for about 8 months now and I had an invitation to query a local independent publishing house. They requested the full a week ago and just sent me this email:

"Congratulations! We have read and reviewed your manuscript and after careful consideration, we would love to offer you a contract for publication with [    ], our Middle Grade and Young Adult imprint.  If you are interested in signing a contract with us for publication of your book, please let us know when you will be available to speak with one of us over the phone.  We’d like to discuss your manuscript and the next steps in our publication process.
We loved your book and we’re excited about the opportunity to work with you."

I think this is probably great news, but....I've got 5 different agents reading my manuscript right now, one of which is my dream agent who's offered me an R&R. I've always wanted to go the traditional route -- get an agent and basically have them guide me. But this is different than having an agent represent me, right? This isn't technically an offer of rep, right?

I need guidance! Please help if you can. Thanks so much!
Falthor

Picture of Me and one of the Twins (Chloe)

« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 03:39:02 PM »

this is a sale.

they want to publish your book, and this is traditional as well.