Author Topic: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi  (Read 3464 times)

Offline stephaniediaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 7
  • ad astra per aspera
Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« on: April 17, 2012, 05:54:56 PM »
Hey all. :)

I'm looking for someone to read my YA sci-fi fairly quickly, as I'm finishing up an R&R for an agent and want to make sure the manuscript is as strong as possible. I'm happy to exchange and read another manuscript in return. Here's the query for my ms:

--

Sixteen-year-old Clementine wants to grow old and live in a place where the moon is a beautiful, glowing orb in the sky instead of an acid-bleeding menace to the planet. So when she wins a shot at life far from the planet surface, she takes it willingly, even if it means leaving her best friend, Logan, behind.

In the planet core, which after centuries has been transformed into a steel-made place of inhabitance more like a space ship, Clementine lives, for the first time, without fear. Underground, there is no starvation, there are no crowbar-wielding security officials, and the moon is far enough away that no one speaks of it.

Then Clementine learns the planet leaders are going to murder Logan.

Now trapped by the steel walls of the underground and the lies that keep her safe, Clementine must find a way to escape and rescue Logan. But the planet leaders don't want her running. They want her subdued.

Complete at 74,000 words, EXTRACTION is a science fiction novel for young adults that will appeal to readers of Veronica Roth's DIVERGENT and Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE.

--

If you're interested, feel free to respond here, PM me, or shoot me an email at stephanieheart7(at)gmail(dot)com. Thanks in advance! :)

Offline Kelly17

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 2
Re: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 06:46:02 PM »
Hello, Stephanie. Extracted sounds very intriguing, and I would love to read it if your offer is still valid.

Offline Sarah Ahiers (Falen)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7878
  • Karma: 794
  • This, too, shall pass
    • Sarah Ahiers
Re: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 09:09:12 AM »
Actually, Steph got an agent and now has a book deal!!!! (at least, i'm pretty sure it's extracted that got the book deal...)

I just looked it up and it is, though it's now tentatively titled Extraction
« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 09:11:34 AM by Falen »
Repped by Mollie Glick of CAA
ASSASSIN'S HEART 2016 HarperTeen
I hang out at Sarah Ahiers Writes
Author Website

Offline Michelle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 148
  • Karma: 22
    • Writer Meets Life
Re: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 03:02:06 PM »
Actually, Steph got an agent and now has a book deal!!!! (at least, i'm pretty sure it's extracted that got the book deal...)

I just looked it up and it is, though it's now tentatively titled Extraction

Wowza! Congrats Steph :) How did you find out Falen? (I bet I'll go check success stories and find it there LOL)
Read my blog :) http://www.writermeetslife.blogspot.com/
Follow my Twitter (I always follow back!) https://twitter.com/MPG21
"Let's face it, writing is hell." --William Styron

Offline Sarah Ahiers (Falen)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7878
  • Karma: 794
  • This, too, shall pass
    • Sarah Ahiers
Re: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 03:03:39 PM »
I'm fairly certain it was in success stories. But also i saw it on twitter, too.
Repped by Mollie Glick of CAA
ASSASSIN'S HEART 2016 HarperTeen
I hang out at Sarah Ahiers Writes
Author Website

Offline stephaniediaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 7
  • ad astra per aspera
Re: Seeking Beta Reader for a YA Sci-fi
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 10:13:15 PM »
Yes, EXTRACTION did get a book deal! But thank you so much offering, Kelly! :)