Author Topic: Query letter help  (Read 2953 times)

Offline weestro

Query letter help
« on: September 17, 2013, 08:26:01 AM »
This is my first attempt at writing a query letter, and from the looks of things I need some help!  Any advice is appreciated.  Thanks!

Dear Agent,

Sam Beasley is the pride of Ridgeton, Virginia. The town has never let him go. From the state championship in high school to a hall of fame career in the NFL, his past has been there, waiting.

Now, divorced and retired at 42, Sam returns home for the funeral of his little league football coach, Mike Ryan. While giving a heartfelt eulogy he's overcome with emotion. After all, it was Coach Ryan who believed in him when he was a timid 9 year old boy living in squalor with his alcoholic mother and her abusive boyfriend. And it was his coach who took him in following the aftermath of a horrific car accident that leveled his childhood.

With the only man he’s ever trusted laid to rest, Sam stays behind to help his adoptive mother get the old house ready for the market. What follows is an introspective journey through the jangled childhood memories left behind in a town where so much has changed yet remained the same. Sam enlists the help of an old friend, stumbles upon secrets of his youth, and rekindles long forgotten feelings for his childhood crush. As he yearns to forge ahead with his life, he must first make amends with the past.

Set before the scenic backdrop of The Blue Ridge Mountains, RIDGETON REDEMPTION is a 75,000 word sports novel with touches of humor and themes of family, forgiveness, and hope.

Offline Mark_Hughes

• My impersonation of Rick from Casablanca
Re: Query letter help
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 10:32:18 AM »
W -
I want to start off by recommending Query University. It consists of the following semi-non-elective courses:

1. The query guidelines provided by this site and also Agent Query.
2. Nathan Bransford's wonderful archive of replies to would-be query writers.