Author Topic: Author's Platforms and nom de plume  (Read 4791 times)

Offline scribo

Author's Platforms and nom de plume
« on: September 16, 2013, 02:31:42 PM »
I've been reading so many agent's interviews, on QT and elsewhere, where they say that an author, especially a new author, needs to have an author's platform, whether a webpage or a blog or a successful sales record at sites such as Smashbook. Although I have some social media experience with LinkedIn and facebook, I have become confused over the need for, and style of, the author's platform and wonder if the lack of any platform is hindering my attempts to get an agent. I don't know whether to send any more queries before I establish a smashbook presence or to keep on trying without one.

Also, I do academic writing and wonder if it would be better to use a nom de plume for my fiction work and my real name for the scholarly stuff. And if I do establish a smashbook space using the nom de plume, when I query again, should I query in that name or in my real name? I am totally paralyzed with indecision.  :help: Thanks in advance to any of you who might give me some advice!
“Literature is strewn with the wreckage of those who have minded beyond reason the opinion of others.” <br />― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One's Own

Offline Sarah Ahiers (Falen)

• This, too, shall pass
    • Sarah Ahiers
Re: Author's Platforms and nom de plume
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 03:38:38 PM »
Well, i do think having a platform in this day and age is important, you shouldn't work on it or worry about it if it's going to interfere with your writing, you know?

Because you know what will get you an agent more than an awesome platform? Writing an awesome book.