Author Topic: Oh no! Did I fall for a scam??  (Read 7489 times)

Offline Tahani Nelson

Oh no! Did I fall for a scam??
« on: July 09, 2014, 07:25:15 PM »
Hi, everyone.

Okay. So I'm new to the writing world. Very new. When I finished my manuscript, I was kind of testing the waters before I found QT. In my fumblings, I got in contact with a different author who is already published. He sent me the contact information for his publisher and I sent them an e-mail. That seems like an okay first step, right?

Anyway, after my initial query, I got a very respectful response asking for a full manuscript so that they may decide if the writing was appropriate for their company. They didn't ask me to sign anything or ask for any money, and I didn't get any immediate red flags. So I sent the manuscript.

The publisher? Just Fiction! Edition

Since then, I've seen some warnings about Just Fiction! Edition, but it doesn't seem like anyone has had their work flat-out stolen. However, I'm still frightened and feeling ill. Did I mess up? And if so, what can I do now?

Offline 007 fan

• Eye right store ease.
Re: Oh no! Did I fall for a scam??
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 09:50:19 PM »
I feel real bad.  I can imagine...the only thing I can suggest is go to the forum for fiction writing.  Someone asked a copyright question, and many people posted replies.  Some of the information there might alleviate some of your fears of having your work stolen.

I googled Just Fiction! Edition before responding, and didn't see anything about them stealing anyone's work.  I did find that they are really miserly with commissions.

Some people do choose to seek a publisher on their own (by-passing an agent) , and I believe there is a forum here on self-publishing - money out of your pocket to get published, etc.  I will take the old-fashioned route and seek a reputable agent to navigate my pride and joy through the jungles of the publishing world.

Sorry there wasn't more I could give you.