Author Topic: Marketing that has worked for you...  (Read 24664 times)

Offline EmmieMears

• Photo by Tigran Markaryan of Calypso Digital.
    • Strong Female Character.
Marketing that has worked for you...
« on: April 10, 2015, 09:06:53 AM »
I'm pretty new to self-publishing, and I think my first release kind of hit right at the right time and harnessed some word of mouth I wasn't expecting.

I haven't really done any marketing except for one high profile guest blog (Chuck Wendig's blog) and two Facebook ads. The first Facebook ad I couldn't really gauge in terms of efficacy, but the second one was a definite flop (which makes me think the first one was also a flop).

I'm wondering what you all have found effective -- my two books both have 20+ reviews with an average of 4.5-4.8 stars.

Some things I'm considering:

-trying to snag a BookBub spot for the Storm 2 release in June and Shrike 2 in September (this is fairly widely touted as grail-like and obviously not a sure thing)
-releasing a couple short stories for free in-world

Have any things worked well for you?
Author of STORM IN A TEACUP (February 2015: http://amzn.to/1KkV9kS), ANY PORT IN A STORM (June 2015: http://amzn.to/1F4hZ9d), and SHRIKE: THE MASKED SONGBIRD (July 2014/April 2015: http://amzn.to/1HX1iPd)

http://www.emmiemears.com

farseer

Re: Marketing that has worked for you...
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2015, 12:11:35 AM »
The best marketing advice is to keep writing. There's little point in trying to market a solo book. Readers these days tend to impulse buy, if they read one book and like it, they will immediately look for what else you have available to purchase. For self publishing you really need a catalogue of work behind you.