Author Topic: "Spiritual/Existential" Murder Mystery  (Read 8630 times)

Offline JohnPansini

• just me.jpg
"Spiritual/Existential" Murder Mystery
« on: September 03, 2015, 05:00:04 PM »
This novel, L. BUTTERFLY, is in the rewrite stage. It is a precursor to MIRROR, MIRROR... , WF that some of have commented on, only in the sense that some of its characters have migrated into MIRROR. The genre is totally different.

When the rewrite is finished, I intend to pitch it to agents. About five years ago, I had an agent who tried to sell it. It wasn't her fault it didn't sell, it was mine. Now I'm a much better writer.

Any thoughts and comments will be greatly appreciated. Also, I don't know exactly what to call this thing - I thinks it's the best work I've ever done - so any ideas on that will be a big help.

Thank you in advance, JP

Chapter 1: Hope Floats

On a Friday afternoon in early February, the Reverend Lawrence Schmetterling, Pastor Larry to his flock back in Colorado Springs, sat reclined in a first-class seat. The plane was in route to New York, the city of his birth some thirty-two years ago, and the city he had not seen in ten years.

Prepare the fatted calf, Dad, the prodigal has returned.

Larry took another sip of club soda and smiled. He felt truly blessed, chosen by the Lord Himself to spread the Good News.

Savoring the tiny bubbles in his soda, he held the glass aside and let an admiring gaze wander down his blue Canali herringbone wool suit to the brand new, highly polished black Bottega Veneta York Leather Brogues on his feet. Although the other first-class passengers were dressed casually, in the pastor’s line of work presentation trumped comfort. While the suit had cost $2,000 and the shoes $900, Larry chose to accessorize with a solid white Ike Behar dress shirt and blueberry satin silk tie.