Author Topic: A Case of Diva Writers... or Diva Agents?  (Read 23136 times)

Offline AlythiaB

• Publishing Tips for the Restless Writer
A Case of Diva Writers... or Diva Agents?
« on: May 17, 2016, 02:32:08 PM »
Hey, so what do you guys think of this article? https://heatheralexanderblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/13/an-offer/

I feel like I'm a super low maintenance client (and person, in general). My agent follows up with me far more than I bother her, and I work hard to get revisions turned around quickly. But even I'm bothered by this particular post. Another writer sent it my way and was a bit put off, too.

IMHO setting up deadlines when you have an offer of rep isn't about ANSWER ME IN THE NEXT 24 HOURS, OR ELSE, BECAUSE I'M A DIVA WRITER!! It's really more of a standard courtesy to those who are reading still ("Hey, I plan to sign with someone very soon, so I wanted to give you a chance to read!" aka "I AM respecting your time, or else I wouldn't have bothered following up!") And while her suggested wording is kind, it's creates a bit of a slippery slope. I can't imagine telling Offering Agent to wait until the other agents can get around to reading. That's not professional. I get not stopping everything to jump through hoops for every Tom, Dick, or Harry who thinks they're ready for a writing career, but an offer of rep establishes that the writer is at a certain professional level.

I dunno. I guess after ten years of turning the other cheek when hit with rejection after rejection, being open to beta readers tearing my work to bits in a constant effort to improve, figuring things out by myself, and, in general, trying to be optimistic, I get defensive of my fellow writers who I know are just as strong. This article sounds like a request for a walking-on-eggshells approach that in of of itself comes off as more diva-ish than the writers who set up respectable time perimeters.