QueryTracker Community
December 17, 2018, 10:25:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Note: This forum uses different usernames and passwords than those of the main QueryTracker site. 
Please register if you want to post messages.

This forum is also accessible by the public (including search engines).
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: CHASING RAINBOWS  (Read 2119 times)
raballard

ever feel like you are chasing the roadrunner?

« on: February 28, 2013, 12:45:53 PM »

I realize the first pages might look like a prologue, but they are not. I remember a little ditty novel about a whale that started with an introduction from a shipmate.

CHAPTER ONE
A LESSON IN NARRATORS

Allow me to introduce myself. The name is Garn. No last name, just Garn and I am a professional story narrator. Modesty prevents me from saying which works I have narrated. However, I can promise you have heard them before. I live by one simple creed and one miniscule rule. My creed is honesty at all times. Thus if I say it happened, it happened. My eensy-weensy rule should be easy to follow. When I am narrating, it is your duty as the reader to pay attention to whatever I have to say. Shall we begin?
    I almost forgot something of the utmost importance. Read this book at your peril. There is trouble afoot, and you might be better served to read books about frogs that turn into princes. What troubles, you ask? My first question is why are you still reading? Didn’t I just say read this book at your own peril? Very well, if you insist, I have it on good authority that the villain through science or magic or through some sort of mumbo-jumbo has devised a way to reach out of this book and grab your soul or freeze your young developing brain cells. Are you sure, you want to continue? This might be your last chance.
    Very well, sit down and listen.
    Remember, I warned you.