Author Topic: A Mantle of Fire (First Draft) Any Suggestions Welcome  (Read 267 times)

Offline BarryW54

A Mantle of Fire (First Draft) Any Suggestions Welcome
« on: January 04, 2019, 03:19:25 PM »
A Mantle of Fire

In the year of our Lord, thirteen eighty-one, Marcus Rolfe, a young tanner by trade, was out early on a snowy February Sabbath, trying to overcome a bout of drink and brawling he had engaged in the night before at the Redd Inn Tavern. The sky wore deeply quilted gray flannel, and large, lazy snowflakes were dropping and twirling from the low hanging clouds. Walking along, humming an old tavern song to himself, Marcus suddenly noticed a rather strange acting fox coming toward him through the snowy woods, and upon seeing  Marcus, it slowed its pace but became more wary. The closer the animal came, the better he could make it out. Its chest was an immaculate white, and its four black stockings stood in sharp contrast to the deepening snow. Slowly, the fox kept coming towards Marcus, and when the distance became no more than a few paces between them, the fox bowed its head and spoke.
“My liege,” the fox said, its shaggy head brushing the snow.
Marcus instinctively reached his hand inside his thick coat and grabbed the hilt of his knife.
“What manner of demon’s curse is this?” he muttered to himself, his words as little puffs of fog in the morning cold. He took a quick few steps backward, glancing around the snowy woods and preparing himself for whatever else may come traipsing along. He did not know what to do. A talking fox? Maybe it was cursed, he thought to himself. He was sure it wasn’t in nature’s plan for animals to speak, although he had heard old drunken men around the campfires tell tales about such things from ancient times. But, he took them to be just that, old drunk men telling tall tales. However, here in front of God and himself, this fox spoke. Add that to his aching head; this was fastly becoming one morning he wished he had stayed in bed.