Author Topic: Query from two POVs  (Read 470 times)

Offline CHwrites

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Query from two POVs
« on: March 05, 2019, 11:36:13 AM »
Hey all!

My novel is written from two POVs. I already wrote one query from the POV of who I’d consider the mc. I have had no requests. I’ve been told by critiquers that my other mc might be a selling point and to include her in my query. But I’m also reading that a query should only be written from one POV.

In your opinion, should I revise my original with only one POV or rewrite to include the other POV?

Offline neverish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: 18
    • leysaulnier.com
Re: Query from two POVs
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2019, 01:05:44 PM »
You could try writing a few different versions -- one with both, one with the POV you haven't focused on yet -- and see how your critique partners feel about them. Feel free to post your query in the query review forum if you'd like more opinions on it, too.

Offline Ro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 4
Re: Query from two POVs
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 06:22:28 PM »
There are examples of people with multiple POVs in a successful query. I think I saw some on queryshark. You could try including both POVs as long as it reads smoothly and makes sense. Including multiple POVs in a query is only bad if you can't do it effectively (or if it's simply not the best approach for your story).

Offline greyflower

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 5
Re: Query from two POVs
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2019, 01:52:39 PM »
So I'm about to enter the querying trenches with a dual POV book, and this is the advice I received from listening to the podcast PrintRun (hosted by two agents). I'm going to use a really simplistic example.

Follow the same structure romance novels follow.

Stanza One is about your first character -- Jane is a quirky librarian with a knack for muffins and murder mysteries.

Stanza Two is about your second character -- John is a edgy biker with a past

Stanza Three brings them together, presents their shared problems and stakes -- When Jane saves John from a horrible wreck, neither one of them expect a mystery of his attacked to bring them together, or put them in dangr.

Stanza Four is your "metadata" -- My debut romance thriller,MUFFINS AND MOTORCYCLES, is a 70,000 words manuscript that would appeal to readers who enjoy Nicholas Sparks and Steven King.

Thanks for your consideration.

Name

Offline Ro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 4
Re: Query from two POVs
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2019, 01:49:18 AM »
So I'm about to enter the querying trenches with a dual POV book, and this is the advice I received from listening to the podcast PrintRun (hosted by two agents). I'm going to use a really simplistic example.

Follow the same structure romance novels follow.

Stanza One is about your first character -- Jane is a quirky librarian with a knack for muffins and murder mysteries.

Stanza Two is about your second character -- John is a edgy biker with a past

Stanza Three brings them together, presents their shared problems and stakes -- When Jane saves John from a horrible wreck, neither one of them expect a mystery of his attacked to bring them together, or put them in dangr.

Stanza Four is your "metadata" -- My debut romance thriller,MUFFINS AND MOTORCYCLES, is a 70,000 words manuscript that would appeal to readers who enjoy Nicholas Sparks and Steven King.

Thanks for your consideration.

Name

Yeah, that's along the lines of what I've read, too.