Author Topic: Obsessing over QT data  (Read 1053 times)

Offline Cherylking

• This is why we can't have nice things.
    • Cheryl King Writes Things
Obsessing over QT data
« on: July 06, 2020, 04:13:17 PM »
Does anyone else obsessively try to glean information from the timeline data like this: An agent rejected my query just a few days after I sent it, so I go look at the timeline and see that there are multiple queries in line before mine. So it could be a positive thing -- maybe something about my query drew her to it before looking at others, and it just wasn't a good fit. Or it could be negative -- maybe my query letter sucked so bad that she knew right away that my story is trash and I'm a horrible writer who will never get representation  :cry:.
Querying: Sitting on Top of the World

YA historical fiction, 64K words

Offline Smellerby

Re: Obsessing over QT data
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2020, 05:37:35 PM »
Yeah, I do this sometimes too. Although, I try not to. It's really hard not to try and do detective work with all of that info available, and yet very little info coming from the agents themselves.

Offline redseafish

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2020, 05:08:10 AM »
I'm the same - really love all the data to look at and think about, but it's also a curse! As I get more rejections, though, it gets less interesting  ;D

Also when I come to decide who to query - actually, none of the agents I've queried has a success story on QT; many haven't even requested a full for a few years from anyone using QT. So, I shouldn't beat myself up about rejections, but maybe this also means these aren't the agents I should be trying? And then, someone after me gets asked for a full - the first time for that agent since something like 2015 (on QT only of course), and then I have to rethink all over again...

All part of the masochistic fun!

Offline NicoleA

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2020, 08:12:11 PM »