Author Topic: How important is it to find the "right" agent?  (Read 435 times)

Offline r_rhett

How important is it to find the "right" agent?
« on: July 13, 2020, 04:16:59 PM »
I am completely new to this process; and, like many, am feeling overwhelmed. The advice repeated in books and across the web is to do your research and find the "right" agent for your manuscript. The next step seems to be query agents a half a dozen at a time. The implication is that you may query dozens or even hundreds before you either give up or find someone. Those two seem to contradict each other. Querying dozens of agents feels like a scattershot approach at odds with carefully researching to find the right match. Is the "right" agent simply anyone who has sold books in your genre? How close to an ideal is "right"?

The data I can find on agents through this website and others doesn't seem particularly granular. My manuscript is a novel in the literary fiction genre.  I understand that it would be foolish to query an agent that specializes in screenplays, self help, or science fiction. I also understand that it is best if the agent has recent sales to major publishers, and is not some fly by night nobody. That would reduce my QuyeryTracker.net search to a couple of hundred accepting queries. Is there more I should be looking for? Or should I just start at the top of the list and work my way through hoping for a bite?

Offline JeanneG

• Jeanne Lyet Gassman
Re: How important is it to find the "right" agent?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2020, 11:23:15 PM »