Author Topic: How long to wait before considering it CNR?  (Read 798 times)

Offline Viddiest

How long to wait before considering it CNR?
« on: November 20, 2020, 03:19:21 AM »
Hello!
I am pretty new to the process, so would love to know your answers. At what point after you've sent out a query do you consider it dead, say your goodbyes to the agent and move on?

Thanks for responding!

Offline Tabris

• I rock!
Re: How long to wait before considering it CNR?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2020, 06:26:08 AM »
If they specify a timeperiod, that's easy--you go with that.

When they don't specify a timeperiod, the rule of thumb is 6 weeks on a query (or after two nudges on a partial or a full).

When I saw that an agent had like a .01% request rate and never sent responses, I would mark it C/NR the same day I sent it, that way I wouldn't ever have to come back to it unless they requested.  ;D

Offline JeanneG

• Jeanne Lyet Gassman
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2020, 10:46:20 AM »
It could be longer than normal. I've been hearing that responses are much slower due to agents working at home and Covid. Someone I know heard yesterday from two different agents she queried last spring. One was a rejection, and the other was a request for a full!

JeanneG
Debut novel, BLOOD OF A STONE (Tuscany Press) released in March 2015; winner of IPPY in national category of religious fiction and currently a finalist for IAN Book of the Year. My work-in-progress: THE DOUBLE SUN.
FB: https://www.facebook.com/JeanneLyetGassman
Twitter: @JLyetGassman

Offline littlewritings

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2020, 06:34:26 AM »
I went with:

Queries:
If they stated a timeframe: that plus two weeks because of the general state of the world
If they didn't state a timeframe: 3 months

Requests:
with timeframe: that plus two weeks
no timeframe: 3 months (first nudge), 6 months (second nudge)

Offline mesmer7

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2020, 03:08:43 PM »
I went with:

Queries: