Author Topic: Coincidence?  (Read 487 times)

Offline mysticatical

Coincidence?
« on: February 21, 2021, 11:57:12 AM »
I have been working as a freelance writer and editor for 5 years. One month ago I started querying (I've queried 8 people and had 4 full MS requests, 2 of which came off the back of an anthology and writing festival last year and haven't replied, 2 of which said no but one was a Revise and Resubmit).

Something which feels like a huge coincidence just happened. For the first time in 5 years working as a writer, I got an email from a big agency asking, out of the blue, if I might be querying and looking for representation, by any chance. I said yes and the agent asked to see my full MS. Is this some huge serendipity or do agents talk?

Offline redseafish

Re: Coincidence?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2021, 02:50:47 PM »
Have you double-checked the email address to make sure it's genuine? There's some kind of unknown scam going on by people trying to take unpublished manuscripts (not sure if they are taken only once offered): https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/21/books/publishing-manuscripts-phishing-scam.html

The article says the email addresses usually have some subtle change.

If it's all genuine, then I've got no idea what's going on! I would have thought that if agents recommended you to someone else, they'd let you know. After all, your email address and your communications about your manuscript should be regarded as private.

Congratulations on all the full requests!

Offline Miss Plum

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2021, 07:54:45 PM »
I got an email from a big agency asking, out of the blue, if I might be querying and looking for representation, by any chance. I said yes and the agent asked to see my full MS. Is this some huge serendipity or do agents talk?