Author Topic: Why is this industry the worst communicators?  (Read 1487 times)

Offline AVA_writing

Why is this industry the worst communicators?
« on: March 28, 2021, 10:13:12 PM »
Disclaimer: I am new to this industry, untrained and unpublished.

Disclaimer said, I find it ironic that in an industry dedicated to the written word, they are the worst communicators in terms of feedback, i.e. queries that never get a response. Does anyone else find this ironic?

Offline raktinope

Re: Why is this industry the worst communicators?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2021, 10:33:42 PM »
Publishing is notoriously slow. I'd even say creative ventures in general don't have the rigid punctuality that say, manufacturing or finance have. Deadlines in in publishing don't have as serious consequences as more corporate industries. Alas, s...l...o...w......r...e...s...p...e...n...s...e...s

Offline AVA_writing

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2021, 10:37:25 PM »
But, everyone in life is angry when the ATM machine is being slow. Why hasn't this industry truly been disrupted?

Offline raktinope

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2021, 10:43:48 PM »
There's no monetary incentive to speed up ATMs. You need to withdraw money. You'll wait in line to withdraw money no matter how long it takes.

You need an agent. You'll wait as long it takes to hear a positive response from one. An agent only moves you to the top of their slush pile when you get an offer, because now they risk losing money by not snatching you up before another agent does. They are the gatekeepers. They risk nothing by making an unpublished author wait.

Offline littlewritings

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2021, 10:46:45 AM »
I see it this way: An agent gets so-and-so many queries a day, reading queries doesn't make them money, and they do need to take proper care of their clients, so client work always happens before queries. When I query, I simply have to wait my turn.