Author Topic: genres: Literary vs. Commercial vs. General vs. Upmarket vs. Book Club . . .  (Read 799 times)

Offline lucidities

Hey, folks:

This newbie to fiction writing and agent querying would benefit from experienced perspectives on how to figure out an appropriate designation of genre among seemingly similar varieties, as in the subject line.

All I can point to, as a start, is an article from Blue Pencil Agency literary consultants (an unknown to me; I'm new at this), titled "Upmarket? Book Club? Literary? How to Describe Novels That Don't Fit into a Genre," by Tess O'Hara, January 11, 2021. https://bluepencilagency.com/upmarket-book-club-literary-how-to-describe-novels-that-dont-fit-into-a-genre/  It offers good definitions, and this summary comment:

"Literary agent Jane Finigan recently shared [. . .] that, for her, knowing where a novel fits on the scale of literary to commercial isn't that important; it's far more helpful if the writer shares a few comparable titles. If you say your novel would appeal to readers of so-and-so and so-and-so, the agent can immediately picture it on a bookshelf, the right bookshelf. . . . Generally, providing both a 'genre' and a few comparable titles is a good idea."

Your thoughts and sharing of experience, please!

Offline Munley

• Nova Scotia, Canada
I think if you really have some comparison to make, it could be helpful to state it.

But I've come across statements from some agents that I question.

--- Providing comp titles is important to show the agent you are "familiar with the market."