Author Topic: A good rejection  (Read 3448 times)

Offline Sandbox

A good rejection
« on: June 14, 2011, 07:46:16 AM »
I am deep into my revision but have some fulls out there straggling. The other day I received this rejection which I thought was rather sweet.

This novel has lovely moments - you are a good writer.  If it were ten years ago, I'd take this on and run with it; but the market for fiction is now so horrible that I must pass it by. I hope someone else loves it as it should be loved, and sells the hell out of it.  Best luck with it.

I choose to ignore the 10 year part--it just confirms that I need to whip this sucker into shape before I send it out again.

SB

Silence18

Re: A good rejection
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 07:51:13 AM »
Wow, I would love for an agent to tell me I'm a good writer! Good for you, Sandbox! I guess there really are silver linings on some clouds, huh?  :)

Offline Amaryllis

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 09:32:25 AM »
What a lovely response. It makes me sad to think about the novels that may languish unpublished and unread just because the market is so stinky. Why don't people read anymore?! Argh!

May your revisions take your novel out of that pile and into the hands of the readers still reading!

Offline Duff

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2011, 09:50:40 AM »
I love the lovely rejection. I am holding on to mine and re-read the highlights when needed. It's good to be close, as much as it's hard to be close. You know you're not one of those crazy, clueless people who try out for a TV talent show. You're the real deal, working toward your break.

You'll get there. And I'll buy your book. I can't wait.  :up:

Offline HorsebackWriter

• Dream at a gallop!
    • Lefty In My Write Mind
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2011, 04:24:47 PM »
{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{ Sandy }}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

That rejection really is lovely. I'm glad, if it had to be a no, that they took the time to honor you and your talent as a writer.